almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-09-16 - 4:30 p.m.

Buffy

Thanks to the modern wonder that is known as Netflix, I finished up rewatching season 5 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer last night. My ex and I had gotten hooked on the show in the summer before Season 2 when WB was showing it twice a week. This is the season that aired in 2000-2001, and ends with Buffy giving the gift of her life to save the world.

Somehow, I missed the first airing of "The Body", the show in which Buffy's mother dies. I also missed the season finale, wherein Buffy throws hersef hed first into the abyss. That first half of 2001 was not tv-watching time for me; my own personal life was more than enough drama at the time (drama which eventually led to starting this journal.) I only kept up on what was happening through online synopsis' on the Buffy site or elsewhere, or, later, through Television Without Pity.

Anyhow, I was struck at how powerful the second half of this season was, from Body onward. There was some excellent acting from Sarah Michelle Geller, and great directing and writing from Joss and his crew. And I don't hate Dawn as much this time around. (I do remember the Ex and I being outrageously irritated with the fact that for 5 full episodes into the season everyone acts like she's always been a part of the show.

If you've never watched Buffy before, now's your prime opportunity. Seasons 1-6 are on DVD, available via Netflix. They are sure a hell of a lot more entertaining than the current crop of Reality TV dreck.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.