almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-04-23 - 5:58 p.m.

bzz bzz bzz

I am taking a break from the volunteer recruitment letter and follow-scripts I'm writing for my non profit client, to bask in the sunshine and heat, and to finally update here.

How awesome is it to be at home, listening to beautiful shoegazer music by Chicago's Ariel (they are playing tonight w/the Low Flying Owls even), with all these windows, and no annoying people, all day long? Oh yes, despite the curtailing of the travel and clothing expenditures, this was the right decision to make. Believe me, my beloved kitty agrees with me on this, as do all the friends who keep telling me how happy and relaxed I seem...

As you may have guessed from the above photo, I was lucky enough to go to see/hear The Twilight Singers on Saturday night. The entire show was being video recorded, so expect to see it somewhere in the near future. Greg Dulli's musical ADD was lovely. Quite a few songs had interludes of him mixing and matching lyrics from a smattering of well-known/loved 80s pop music, but delivered in his trademark style. One of the two (or was it 3?) encores featured a duet of "Strange Fruit" with Mark Lanegan, formerly of the Screaming Trees, which was amazing. They played for about 2 hours, including the breaks Dulli took to light up his, uh, cigarette and then share the smoke with his bandmates. Hehe.

Since I only get 6 comped tickets to the film fest, I've been trying to guess which films will be really good and not get released any time soon on DVD (and thus be available via Netflix or the Library), and not be shown at a press screening. So far, I've taken in the following:

The 6-ticket limit has caused me to miss a bunch of the French movies I wanted to go see, including After You with Daniel Auteil. Luckily, my current Netflix delivery, which came today, has one of his films in it to tide me over. Comments on the above films, all of which I'd recommend, although only a couple were excellent, will be forthcoming. I have found a place to take a review or two...but hope to be able to place more, paying or not, 'cuz this girl needs to bulk up on the recent clips!

Other non-film highlights of the week included purchasing a big fat stack of magazines purchased at Border's post dentist visit as market research tax deductible items (whoo hoo!). Note also that the dental hygenist asked me, sans irony, if I had been flossing every day because my teeth/gums looked great. I nearly passed out from that compliment, since she was the woman who had really chewed me out about a year ago on this same topic. haha. The answer to her question is "no", by the way, if you were wondering if I was some sort of Jerry Seinfeld-like dental hygiene freak.

;)

When I'm not procrastinating here, I've been posting on LiveJournal (comment if you have an LJ and I'll link to you), and even writing/ reading epinions. Gotta work through the wanderlust somehow... OK, enough of this procrastinating, and back to work...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.