almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2005-01-16 - 10:06 a.m.

dinner for eight

Apparently I am insane.

No, seriously. Here's the proof...

The past 2 weeks have been insanely busy at work, meaning 10+ hour days and dreaming about PowerPoint presentations while I sleep. And since I'm never home, I had a stack of mail 3 or 4 inches tall to deal with last night, including a bill that was due today. Ooopsie.

Given the hectic life I have been leading, I should be spending the day lounging around the house in PJs reading magazines and books, and writing. But no. Not me.

Instead, I am running around cleaning and prepping my tiny little apartment to host dinner for 8 people tonight, half of whom I've never met (they are LJ friends of one of my friends and part of a secret dinner society.) or just met in passing recently.

I've asked people to bring wine and snacky things. I'm making sangria (of course), thin crust pizzas, and a risotto. I am toying with also making orzo with cabbage and bacon but am undecided.

I have enough chairs to seat 6 people at my round table, but they would be cramped to say the least. Most likely, there will be 4 or 5 people around my coffee table, seated on pillows or my sofa, and the others at the round table. If these types of things are to continue, I'd better consider a collapsable table for 8. Not that I know where I'd store it other than under my bed...

Wish me luck. This is my first post-N dinner party. And the last time I had more than 5 guests over at one time was when I had my post-wedding cocktail reception. This is a momentus occasion indeed*.

Note I originally spelled "indeed" as "in dead". Hi, who has hostessing jitters? That would be me.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.