almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-03-24 - 11:13 a.m.

last night I dreamt�

Embarcadero bus shelter �not that somebody loved me, but that we had a decent sized earthquake (a 5.6 if I recall). I was at home in my lovely apartment while it rocked and rolled. After the shaking subsided, I turned to my mother and said �Awesome! I was ready for some change.�

Talk about being in control of your dreams. I�m in full scale embracing change mode. Yesterday, I told the cute boy who has been my chief partner in flirting/dating over the past 8 months that I was thinking of moving out of the City.

Those words rolled off my tongue in the course of conversation with him, leaving him more than a little shocked. The funny part is those words were completely unplanned by me. I worry that they are true though; this is the boy I told I was getting a divorce before I consciously made that decision to do so and started taking the steps to move forward with obtaining a divorce.

The boy, ever practical, suggested a bunch of places I could move within a 60-mile radius of here. That was pretty cute. He knows, since we discussed it, that if I were to move, it would be a serious move to another large city � I�m no country girl (and *never* a suburbian), alas. I still truly like this boy, but he no longer makes my pulse quicken or my heart flutter, which is a bummer. On the other hand, he would be a fiercely loyal friend, so that is a positive thing.

Yesterday, I went out and about to run errands, including to pick up a few huge containers of super detangling conditioner (funny how a windy day will inspire such a purchase). At the checkout counter, the clerk tried to sell me, for $10, a card that would provide me with a whopping $5 store credit for every $100 I spent there or something like that. I politely rebuffed the clerk by telling her I always lose those little cards, making it useless for me to join.

Honestly, that�s only half the story though. You see, that cute little card would be providing the company that issued it with the information on all my purchases, allowing them to better target their selling to me, and to other customers with a similar purchasing profile. Now, please explain, why would I *pay* them to better market themselves to me? And, besides, I would lose the stupid little card, just like I�ve lost the one for the discount wine shop, the clothing store I frequent, etc. I�d need a handbag the size of a breadbox to cart around all the credit cards, frequent shopper cards, and discount membership cards the world wants to bestow upon me. But I just won�t do it!

I�m not anti-consumerism � I have my share of material possessions that I quite enjoy�but I�m not so sure I need to be such an active participant in consumer culture. And I certainly wouldn�t pay for the privilege to take part (this is why I don�t pay for cable TV � it�s advertising supported by companies wanting to reach their target audience, so why should I fork over cash? Add to this the fact that I am rarely home anyway, so you can see how silly it would be.)

A non-related question: why are people, at 2 a.m., querying my favorite search engine for a funny wine-related phrase, and reading my diary? Is this the only way some wayward soul can recall how to find my journal? Or am I about to be sued for using someone�s about to be copyrighted catch phrase? I�d really love to know�off to create a mix tape (be watching the mix-tapes diary for the results)�

so, tell me how long
before the last one?
and tell me how long
before the right one?

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.