almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-08-24 - 10:46 a.m.

wine, women, and trade

seine bridge I don't want this to become a place wherein I bitch and moan about work. That would be why there haven't been any updates this week.

Last Sunday marked my third time volunteering for the Family Winemakers tasting. It still surprises me though that the winemakers and tasting folks remember me form year to year. Then again, I do sometimes make a bit of an impression -- if nothing else, I tend to make some folks... a little nervous.

During the tasting, I sun dried my freshly washed hair while checking in winery folks; after my shift, I strolled around trying new wines from old favorite wineries, and chatted with the people I remembered liking, and who remembered me from last year and again chatted me up.

To my amusement, I caused three separate wine spillages. The first involved a flustered gentleman pouring a zinfandel all over my hand (discoloring my cuticles I might add); the second pouring some sort of red wine all over my glass; the final gentleman, after inquiring after my discolored hand and its cause, poured half a bottle of expensive cabernet all over his table, narrowly avoiding getting it on me. I am still uncertain if it was the skirt w/the dangerously high slit up the front, the tall black boots, or the unfettered mane of hair that was the distraction... hehe.

After the tasting, I arranged to hook up with a friend who has been out of town and missed outo n my b-day celebrating. Instead of going out for cocktails to celebrate as planned, I ordered in an array of my favorite dishes from the amazing Italian place up the street, and he had a friend drop him off at my place. It was so lovely to spend a Sunday evening drinking wine, talking, and listening to music with an old friend.

I think you can see why the "yard sale" list never got posted here. I still haven't schlepped my clothes to Wasteland or Crossroads, or taken books to Green Apple. I've been too worn out and tired. Here's my list from Swappingtons though:

  • book: The Elements of Editing by Arthur Plotnik
  • book: Life is Just a Bowl of Cherries and Other Delicious Sayings by Anne Bertram
  • book: mentalfloss magazine "10" issue
  • book: friction magazine first year compilation
  • book: The Dictionary of Cliches by James Rodgers
  • book: writing.com by Moira Anderson Allen
  • cd: The Complex by Blue Man Group
  • book: National Writers Union Guide to Freelance Rates and Standard Practice by National Writers Union
  • book: Granta 80 The Group (includes a story by Geoff Dyer)
  • book: Granta 81 Best of Young British Novelists (includes story by Zadie Smith)
  • book: Get a Financial Life by Beth Kobliner
  • book: Lonely Planet Paris guidebook
  • book: The Girl in the Flammable Skirt by Aimee Bender
  • book: The Paris Review 162 (includes piece by Rick Moody)
  • book: The Way We Talk Now by Geoffrey Nunberg

No reasonable trade refused. I want this stuff outta my living room and pronto!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.