almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-06-11 - 7:12 p.m.

kindnap the sandy claws...

dog skull When I saw this cute little dog skull on Saturday, I immediately thought of Zero, the lovely Jack Skellington's faithful ghost dog in The Nightmare Before Christmas...turns out they even had a Jack doll in his coffin in the Cal Academy of Sciences exhibit...but none of the collectibles were for sale in the exhibit shop. Could have been a real fund raiser for them if they'd thought of it...

My phone rang at the crack of dawn this morning, as I was trying to motivate to get out of bed and get going (this is getting harder each day -- a clear sign that I need a vacation!) It was a dear friend letting me know that she, whilst on her vacation in Italy, had gotten engaged! I am *very* happy for her since I know how much this means to her.

We made plans to spend a good portion of the weekend hanging out doing girlie stuff (farmers' market, pedicures, ring shopping, cooking dinner, drinking prosecco, watching AbFab). As a result, I found myself asking a co-worker this afternoon "do you have any suggestions on where to go to look for an engagement ring?" Said co-worker freaked out with excitement -- her first impulse was to think that I had somehow impetuously found a boy who had asked me to marry him before he'd shown up on anyone at work's radar screen...

I'll have at least 6-8 weeks before I need to worry about anything like that.

;-)

Next weekend is also going to be a girlie one, although with a slightly different vibe...my closest friend, whom I've know since I was 4, will be coming up here with her mom, in celebration of her mom's 51st birthday...I foresee a trip to Erno's Tattoos (though I think it's been renamed?), lunch, and shopping. I think I may have even talked them into a good old fashioned slumber party. Yeah!

I have lots of planning to do, but am very tired from work, so it's just going to have to wait 'till tomorrow...

Here's to good times, good friends, and more to come...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.