almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-12-28 - 7:07 p.m.

an appreciation

lion Astronaut M's post today on things he learned in 2003 got me thinking about all things I better appreciate after completing this year, both large and small.

First and foremost, since I am drinking some now, I am thankful it is now tangerine juice season, and that I can find Odwalla's tangerine juice at most of my favorite local markets.

I am also appreciative that I have so many fabulous specialty grocery stores (Andronico's, Trader Joe's, Whole Foods) and an abundance of small shops and local artisanal producers (especially at the Ferry Plaza Farmers' Market) that can supply me with any ingredient an issue of Saveur can dish out.

As I waited in the terribly long checkout line at Whole Foods on Christmas Eve day with a few hundred SF citizens, I realized I was there thanks to inspiration that came to me in the form of this month's Martha Stewart Living's lasagne bolognese recipe, thus tempting me into an 8-hour cooking frenzy that evening. On that note, I am also most appreciative for the boy coming into my life and giving me someone to cook for.

As always, I feel blessed to live in this fine City, with its many fabulous museums, assorted annual wine tastings, more film festivals than you can shake a stick at, and a venue for buying just about anything your heart desires.

I am thankful for my many fabulous friends, even the ones who I almost never see and whom I feel neglected by -- I still love them anyway. I am also thankful for the many funny and thoughtful folks whose writings I read here on a daily (or whatever schedule it is, exactly, that governs when they update) basis. There is something wonderful about having little glimpses into the lives of other people alla round the world who share at least a few of my interests and vices. Long live the Internet!

I am thankful for the Coronet movie theater not yet being demolished by the old folks that want to build a home on its site (since they aren't satisfied, apparently, with any of the vacant pieces of land around the City that they could buy for cheap) which means I got to see all 3 of the 'Rings movies on its amazingly wide screen (the third and final one having been watched on Christmas Day). I am going to miss that place...

Thank you for indulging me in my rambles. The end of the year is just, to me, such a good time to take stock of some of the things that matter to you most...

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.