almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-12-27 - 7:26 p.m.

inverness

dahlias Last weekend, the boy and I braved heavy rains to trek into the dark heart of Marin County to visit his family. Since their place is a large living space plus a loft, they put us up at the Inverness Valley Inn. Upon hearing these plans, I decreed that we must go to Manka's for dinner (I've been twice before and it was excellent, *plus* it's the only really good restaurant in that area), and that it would be one of my Christmas presents for the boy.

Manka's previously offered a wide selection of local produce and fresh game with an a la carte menu; now, there is a $88 set 7-course dinner that changes each day depending upon what's available at market and the chef's whims. I was disappointed there did not appear to be suggested wine pairings or a wine flight with the meal. That disappointment was minimized thanks to the Miner Family cabernet sauvignon half bottle I ordered. A demerit point goes to the floor manager who assumed the boy had ordered the wine and completely ignored me up until the boy handed the taste to me for my approval. Ahem.

The dinner we had was served as follows:

  1. A soup of coastal cauliflower beneath a Tomales Bay oyster, lavished with a salsa of local leeks and parsley.
  2. Local dungeness crab cooked in a wood fired oven with applewood smoked bacon and porcini mushroom-laced mayonnaise.
  3. A rustic sausage of local rabbit stewed with cranberry beans.
  4. A "cloud" of mulled Inverness apples.
  5. Rack of (Niman Ranch) lamb grilled in the fireplace with mashed potatoes.
  6. Rectangles of quince gelatin with a chevre goat cheese and toasted walnuts.
  7. A thin wedge of dark chocolate mousse/cake with a pear ice cream, ribboned with caramel sauce.

I admit I was bummed that the main courses were less exotic than the venison and boar I'd had on my 2 previous visits. But the high quality food in the gorgeous renovated dining room, with its warm, dark arts and crafts wood/iron/and hand blown glass decor, more than made up for it.

(For full details on Manka's, see my epinions review.)

The boy informed me it's the first time he's ever been out to such an involved and expensive dinner. This makes me doubly glad I did it, even if it has the potential to permanently spoil him for restaurant going.

;)

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.