almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-01-02 - 5:06 p.m.

just out of reach

Paris pantheon I am least able to write when I have the most things on my mind. I lack the ability to prioritize my writing, my cherished projects, and thus, avoid them all. The cold, wet weather encourages me to snuggle into the bed with the cat, as does the newish Anne Rice novel I've just started to devour.

The novel, despite the temper-tantrum of a first chapter, taking to task the Vampirte Lestat fans who didn't embrace/couldn't relate to Lestat's midlife crisis/finding God in Memnoch the Devil, nearly turned me off. But my love for the original Vampire Chronicles trilogy and The Witching Hour convinced me to continue on. For the most part, it's a delicious page-turner, with some of Lestat's sexy/trashy exploits, but there's far too much casual current slang for my liking, none of which I'd actually expect to hear from Lestat's mouth, except in mocking tones. It's enjoyable light reading all the same.

This book tangent also makes me realize I may have drawn a blank on my favorite books of this year when compiling the year in review meme, but my holiday gift giving clearly denoted these: The Partly Cloudy Patriot, Things You Should Know, and Meat Cake.

The weekend is to be spent in exile; as I told the boy, I need another weekend alone to catch my breath. I want to organize the ephemera of my travels into my dusty, blank scrapbook pages. I have lots of reading to do too, as I wait for the words to restart their flow. And I suspect to spend some time under the covers watching my latest netflix rentals and playing with the PS2 Sims as the cat naps beside me, keeping me warm.

My plans are not exceptionally ambitious. And that's OK. Sometimes a girl needs to give herself a time out.

And if all goes well, Sunday will involve some girl time w/maira-rose, whose leukemia is keeping her under the weather and introverted. I miss her lots... I realize again that, like my namesake best friend I've known since we were 5, she is my family, my sister. Someone I love very much. I also realize that my inability to do anything to directly help her to feel better, or to kick her illness' butt, frustrates me to no end. But I *can* be there for her, making tea and cookies, and just being her friend. That much I can do.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.