almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-12-21 - 8:34 p.m.

year in review meme

NYC holiday window1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?
Went to Paris. Got involved with a "younger man". Finally ate crab in its natural state.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don't recall ever making any. And I'm too lazy to look through my archive here to see if, in fact, I made one.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No. However, one got knocked up and will soon, and too many more wish that they were. Worst of all, a boy I'd been crazy about got married this year *and* is a father-to-be.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
I nearly said Grandpa, but realized that was last Xmas.

5. What countries did you visit?
Only France. But it's not that I'm a slacker -- it's that Scotland and Ireland got postponed thanks to the new job.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?
A job that I am happy to go to each morning.

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
09.06.03.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I honestly don't feel as though I achieved anything at all this year. Changing jobs is the only thing that is vaguely in that category.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not changing jobs sooner. See also 090603 above.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Yes.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My iPod.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Can't think of anyone.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Celebrity journalists and assorted political figures, and the CA voters.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Towards my trip to Paris, and for work clothes for the new job. Who knew a non profit educational institution would be more formal than a F*rtune 500 company?

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
My trip to Paris, and Stellastar*.

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?
Obstacle 2 by Interpol.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?
Happier.
ii. thinner or fatter?
Much fatter, thanks to the all-fat and wine diet in Paris,mostly.
iii. richer or poorer?
About the same, despite cashing out my vacation pay from my old job, thanks to the whirlwind NYC trip this month, and all the clothes shopping.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Traveling, as usual. And talking with people I haven't seen nearly enough of this past year.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Procrastinating.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
At home with the cat and the boy, eating to excess, and going to see Return of the King.

22. Did you fall in love in 2003?
Alas, no... though I did fall out of love.

23. How many one night stands?
Alas, not a one.

24. What was your favourite TV programme?
Since Buffy ended, nothing's really grabbed me.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Nope. Not real big into the hating.

26. What was the best book you read?
I have no idea...maybe On Rue Tatin.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Stellastar*. Hands down. Raveonettes were second.

28. What did you want and get?
iPod.

29. What did you want and not get?
Nothing I'm writing about here. Some things are best kept to yourself.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
Lost in Translation, though Pirates of the Carribean was loads of fun, as was Once Upon a Time in Mexico.

31. What did you do on your birthday?
Ate tasty food with friends. First b-day not spent with the ex-boy in 11 or 12 years.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Being able to move into an equally large, but more fabulous apartment closer to downtown.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?
Metropolitan girlie -- shades of Nanette Lepore and Tessuto.

34. What kept you sane?
Dean & Deluca house blend coffee.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Duh. We all know the answer to this one, and, in fact, many a girl on my list here shares the answer.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Nationally, there was War; state-wide it was the recall election; and locally, it was the mayor's race. None of it turned out as I would have desired.

37. Who did you miss?
I miss my best friend who never will be again.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
My boy.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003.
Time is of the essence. Waste not want not. And don't ever tell a boy you're so happy you're becoming actual true friends -- they seem to take that as meaning you never want to smooch them again, instead of meaning you like to smooch them *and* to talk with them over dinner.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
"Please don't slow me down if I'm going too fast".

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.