almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-01-12 - 9:59 a.m.

confessions of a vacation overachiever

Parliament Building DETAIL Many people I know view vacations as a time to slow down, relax, recharge. These are people who dream of sitting on an island with warm blue water lapping at their feet as the lie on a beach for 8 hours. That kind of a vacation would drive me insane.

At this point in my life, I describe myself as a City Person. This doesn�t mean I don't appreciate the wilderness or country life; rather, it means I have an appreciation of the finer parts of City living. When I returned from London, people were surprised to hear I hadn't ventured into the countryside (the farthest out I went was Oxford) and, in fact, still had a few things I wanted to do in the City proper.

As a starting point for my travelogue, here's what my 8 days in London looked like:

Day One:

  1. The National Gallery
  2. Courtauld Gallery at Somerset House
  3. Petrie Egyptian Museum
  4. Annie's Vintage Clothing & Textiles
  5. Sister Ray records

Day Two:

  1. The Tower of London
  2. Design Museum
  3. Fortnum & Mason
  4. Bond Street
  5. Oxford

Day Three:

  1. Portobello Road Markets
  2. Rough Trade Records
  3. Tate Modern

Day Four:

  1. The British Museum
  2. Camden
  3. Knightsbridge area shopping

Day Five:

  1. Victoria & Albert Museum
  2. Neal's Yard Dairy
  3. Neal�s Yard Salad Bar
  4. New Year's Eve at a pub in Finsbury Park

Day Six:

  1. Tate Britain
  2. Harvey Nichols

Day Seven:

  1. Old Spitalfields Market
  2. St. Paul's Cathedral
  3. Big Ben
  4. Westminster Abbey
  5. Covent Garden shopping area

Day Eight:

  1. The Saatchi Gallery
  2. Harrods
  3. Camden Markets
  4. Out on the Floor
  5. Brotherhood of the Wolf at the Prince Charles Cinema

The rest of my time in London was consumed with Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and Boxing Day festivities, and cooling my heels at the airport. Over all, an excellent way to spend almost 2 weeks.

My goal for today is to flesh out my travelogue...I'd meant to get up and go to the Farmers' Market, but overslept, saw the cold foggy world outside my window, and decided to skip it. My return to normal City life will have to wait for next weekend.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.