almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-01-09 - 7:54 p.m.

never enough

I'm taking a break from the London travelogue writing until my head stops spinning from the vast quantity of work I need to complete over the next week or so. Still haven't called back 3 friends who called to find out if I returned form Europe, and have only corresponded via email with most of the people who know I'm back. So, I'm not completely reimmersed in life here.

In such a state, it was probably not advisable to walk over to Moscone Center to attend the MacWorld trade show. I drooled over the new iMacs, coveted a new iBook, and desperately wanted to win one of those lovely iPods so I could download every song I love into it and carry it around with me always. Ahem. Luckily, despite there being lots of software and accessories for sale, there wasn't a big "buy apple hardware here!" booth (or at least not one that I saw), so I didn't plop down $400 I don't have on an iPod. I guess that's a good thing.

I've become reobsessed with all things Mac since I bought my iBook a little over a year ago. Now, I want to load it up with creative software, add-ons to the Sims, and hundreds of fonts. Oh yeah -- I'm happy not to have seen a bunch of fonts from P22 or a similar type foundry. That would have really been my undoing. Instead, I only purchased the Jakob Nielsen "deconstructing Web usability" (or some such) book. I was proud of myself for such restraint.

And then I found the A.G. Ferrari Italian Foods shop on my way back to the office from Moscone. This is a good thing and a very bad thing. I was able to procure a bottle of Boeger Barbara (my favorite wine out of the several dozen I tasted at the CalItalia wine tasting this Fall) and Rosenblum Vintners Cuvee XIII Zinfandel, a jar of rustichella pasta sauce, and a very tasty salami sandwich.

Need to get to bed early -- tomorrow is another long day.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.