almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2005-08-07 - 1:07 p.m.

madeleines and birthday follies

Last night I finally found a madeleine recipe that worked for me. Thus, my boy came home from dinner with his dad to a dessert of warm homemade madeleines. Yeah!

I basically did this, borrowing from an online recipe and from Julia Child's "The Way to Cook"...

Ingredients

1 cup All purpose flour
2 Eggs
3/4 cup Sugar
6 ounces Unsalted butter (plugra) melted and cooled
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
a few drops of lemon juice

Instructions

1. Preheat the oven to 350�. Paint madeleine tin with a flour and melted butter mixture (1 tbsp flour and 1 tbsp plus 1/4 tsp melted butter).

2. Sift the flour into a bowl. Add vanilla extract and lemon juice to butter. Combine the eggs and sugar in a sauce pan. Place pan on low heat and beat the mixture with a whisk or electric beaters until thick and pale yellow. Remove the pan from the heat and continue to beat the mixture until cooled slightly and increased in volume.

3. Add the egg and sugar mixture to the sifted flour, then add in the butter, vanilla extract and lemon juice. Fold all ingredients in quickly until just combined. Spoon the mixture into the madeleine tin.

4. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until lightly golden. Carefully remove from the tin and place on a wire rack until cold. Dust with powdered sugar before serving.

The boy was my first "happy birthday" wisher, clocking in just a few minutes past midnight. I also awoke to birthday txt msg wishes from my exhusband, and DiscoDave. These all make me happy. I am avoiding thinking about whom I have not heard from (will not hear from). I will try my best to forgive them their self-involvement, as I try to never carry around anger or disappointment. I am disappointed though.

My boy snuck out this morning and returned with a huge bouquet of flowers and made me coffee. We're going out someplace special this evening that has not been disclosed to me. And sometime this week his gift for me will actually be delivered by UPS. Hehe. I'm hoping it's a hello kitty bowling ball...

any comments? (3 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.