almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-09-27 - 6:10 a.m.

wedding belles

split apart statue Bridesitting starts at 4:30 p.m. today!

Thinking of renting something funny/endearing, letting her have no more than 1 glass of merlot, then tucking her into bed early to prepare for her big day...

Meanwhile, everyone at my workplace is waiting for their big day as well.

Thanks to the lovely technology behind the ability to see everyone's calendar in order to setup meetings in this post-administrative assistant world, it has become clear that our enterprise's layoffs should be hitting next Monday or Wednesday (depending upon location.)

In the tradition of Nero, who fiddled as Rome burned (or perhaps of that silly lady who said "let them eat cake...") I arranged a gourmand outing for ladies who lunch...for next Wednesday. Screw sitting around waiting for the ax to fall -- we're going to eat some seriously fabulous food! And if that means an HR person has to sit around w/a VP for 2 hours as the ladies I work with sip wine, well... too bad.

Of course, one invitee who refuses to commit tried to get me to schedule the lunch for today, since we could all be goners next week. I bit my tongue to keep from saying "If you're layed off, you'll have plenty of time for lunch then, won't you?" Sometimes I am amazed at my good manners...

Stay tuned for wedding photos and silly stories...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.