almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-09-28 - 6:46 a.m.

here comes the bride...

bride and groom crashers Can you believe it?

This newly wed couple crashed our rehearsal to have their pictures taken...

This certainly lent a hyperreal air to the evening...especially since this couple certainly reminded me of the little plastic people stereotypically on top of a wedding cake...

Rehearsal dinner was at Liberty Cafe in scenic Bernal Heights... since they do not take reservations, we sat out back, in the wine cottage, noshing on breadsticks and a salami/gruyere plate, drinking a barbera and making small talk.

Liberty Cafe specializes in comfort food which was a good call for taking the chill off and putting everyone at ease. The food highlight really was dessert -- the fantastic banana cream pie reminded me of the bananas foster pain perdu I'd had my first morning in Seattle (always a good thing) and had a good bourbon kick from the vanilla extract...the chocolate pot du creme was also quite tasty. To ensure Maira remembers our meal, I asked for (and received) a copy of the menu...

My bridesitting is going well...have not lost or harmed the bride and even got her to sleep before midnight. The barbera we drank throughout the rehearsal dinner may have helped the sleeping bit... as well as the merlot chez moi...

Just a few more hours 'till she's no longer a single girl...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.