almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-07-30 - 1:55 p.m.

I'm feelin happy so highly evolved
My time's a riddle that'll never be solved

Lucy I always suffer from post-travel "blahs". Perhaps this time I am missing my goldfish, Lucy, who I had to leave behind when I bid Seattle adieu.

I was too busy enjoying Seattle to write about my first day there...so here goes...

The crack of dawn flight got me into Seattle in time for breakfast with coworkers. Since I take my vacationing (and off site working) seriously, I indulged in pain perdu with a Bananas Foster sauce. Honestly, it was much more of a confection than a breakfast. The luscious liquored up aroma made my more culinarily conservative companions drool. Ha ha ha.

After dropping off my bags, (yes, breakfast was the 1st item on my agenda - we all have our priorities, now don't we?), I convinced my coworkers to join me on a sugar-fueled stroll through downtown. We walked through the stalls at Pike's Place Market. I am pleased at the restraint I showed. So many gorgeous purple dahlias and orange/red cherries, and perfect looking plums...and not a one came home with me as I knew they would be mush by the time our walk concluded.

Our stroll took us through Belltown, past Flying Fish (our dinner destination for that evening), down to the City Center to ogle the Space Needle and the sinuous lines and sparkling skin of the Experience Music Project building, then back up 5th, along the monorail route, through the main shopping district, full of the same shops I see every day in downtown SF...BUT their Torrefazione had riso (rice) gelato!! I hadn't had any since my trip to Italy last year, and was very pleased...and took it as a sign this trip would be lovely. NOTE: the fact that it was sunny and warm gelato-eating weather was also a good sign.

Thanks to the balmy evening weather, and the pre-dinner cocktails everyone imbibed, I was able to easily obtain compliance with my wishes to walk to dinner� I can�t recall ever wearing a sleeveless dress, in the evening, in San Francisco, without a coat. It was classic San Diego summer weather and quickly put me in the mood for serious eating. The restaurant staff graciously accommodated our larger than reserved party and placed us in front of the large windows so we were able to enjoy the sunset light with our dinner. The wild salmon with roasted fingerling potatoes and fennel salad was some of the best fish I have ever eaten, if not *the* best.

It was hard to choose what to eat though since everything looked so tasty�I am pleased my companions all shared with me since getting to try most of the menu is what makes such large dinners fun for me. My coworkers were very pleased at my selection of location, as were our guests� my inside source who recommended Flying Fish is very clever indeed. How better to influence my feelings for this city than to set me up for bliss on my 1st night out?

Is it any wonder it was hard to come home?

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.