almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-08-23 - 1:03 p.m.

life of the party and then some

Friday night, I got to live out my alternate career path as a photographer. The ArtworkSF people asked me, in response to my volunteer inquiry, to take photos of their fundraiser at SomArts. I am guessing that they saw the indie rock show photos on my site and thought I could take some similar shots for them. The lively young lady whose photo accompanies this post was one of the burlesque dancers who performed.

And now, for your reading pleasure, may I present:
10 Things You Might Not Know About Me Despite Reading My Journal*

  1. I am a media criticism junkie, currently reading (but not especially connecting with) Spin Sisters.
  2. I have had a subscription to Harpers for the past 12 years, and always read the Harpers Index first. My ex and I used to compete for who got to read them aloud/read the issue first. Yes, we were dorks.
  3. I was a snarky college radio DJ for 3 years.
  4. Despite being a City girl at heart, I grew up in a small town that still had a milkman that provided home delivery of dairy products.
  5. I had never visited NYC before April 2002. Since then, I've been four times, and covered much of its streets on foot. Somehow, I've been to MOMA and the Guggenheim once, MOMA QNS, the Met, and the Whitney twice. I always end up at Dean & Deluca, and have eaten at Artisanal twice. Oh how I love NYC...
  6. I read Vogue for the food articles.
  7. My favorite cheese is Cypress Grove's Humboldt Fog.
  8. I was a big disappointment to my high school teachers because I failed to embrace their enthusiasms. I quit the speech/debate team despite winning every extemperaneous speech contest I entered because I didn't want to play with those kids every weekend (they were too conservative and boring, and I got sick of people encouraging me to pursue a career as a lawyer.) I stopped playing piano because I didn't want to give up reading and having a normal teenage life to practive 3 hours per day. And, finally, despite winning a whole slew of academic decathalon medals, I chose to go to a state university rather than a fancy out of state school because I couldn't justify to myself having a huge load of debt when entering a low-paying field such as journalism. Only my photography teacher loved me. I have always followed my own path.
  9. I was a minor disappointment to my college professors after graduating at the top of my class as magazine student of the year and then 1) not showing up for the graduation ceremony, resulting in an empty chair on stage and them calling my name to no avail during commencement and 2) choosing location (SF) over magazine career (NYC). In addition to always following my own path, I choose climate/ease of City life over all other considerations when it comes to where to live. It is possible I may never leave SF.
  10. I love The Sims and am going to upgrade my PC almost entirely for the purposes of playing Sims 2.

* Although someone somewhere has probably popped this out as a journaling meme, I haven't seen it anywhere else previously. It just seemed like a good idea at the time.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.