almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-12-12 - 8:06 p.m.

hot metal and methedrine

cat's in the bagRemember how I was excited about wine and an early bedtime last night? Well, that just didn't happen. Given that it's the holiday season, I clearly should have known better.

Yesterday was one of those days when you receive emails from your ex that remind you of what you liked about him before he fell in love with you, became tediously obsessive, and you dumped him. Well, perhaps *you* didn't, but I did and this journal is all about me, so the previous sentence still stands. But enough about that ex-boy; this entry isn't about him either.

Early on, I received a call from an old friend who was unexpectedly in town. He makes rings and necklaces and other small metal objects and sells them at street fairs, etc. He was in town selling his wares a few blocks from my office. I made plans to meet up with him right after work. He started packing up his table as soon as I arrived since it was a cold, windy evening. Lacking an essential bungie cord, he asked me to help carry his display to the car 8 blocks away.

I have to stop at this point to describe how I looked yesterday: long black skirt, tall black heels, heather gray sweater and black scarf covered up by black leather jacket. Dark hair swept back. Add a black handbag and black gloves to polish the picture. That said, the item I ended up carrying was a black-painted board. It was about 18 inches by 3 feet. Just painted black. Nothing on it.

As we walked down the main shopping street towards the car, I noticed people noticing me as I walked and I joked to my friend that I was carrying a sign advertising nothing. A few blocks from the car, we got separated and stuck at a red light. As I patiently stood there waiting, a stranger asked me: "Is that performance art?"

My reply? "No, I'm just carrying a board."

But it would've made a damn fine performance art piece, especially given the time of year...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.