almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-12-14 - 9:13 a.m.

lick my lips, i'm desire...

tivoli garden pools

I'm having a seriously evil urge this morning...it may be due to the wind rattling my windows...or my hangover from last night's Xmas party...or it just may be 'cuz I have the day off...regardless, i have somehow caught the holiday shopping fervor.

I know, I said I wasn't going to give out gifts this year. And I asked people not to give me anything. But it's all gone to hell. I've had friends and colleagues tell me directly that I'm getting a gift if they have to hide it in my handbag to get me to take it home.

And I woke up this morning with the urge to run around on the Haight snapping up silly presents for everyone I know. Help me stop the madness!

The only thing I have working in my favor here is it's cold outside so I may not actually leave the house until I meet up w/my friend (the one I went holiday shopping for myself with) for dinner and drinks. She's taken up drinking as a hobby for the holidays. Normally, I don't encourage such things, but since I'm in training for my holiday travels, I can't resist a girl's night out.

In reflection, I realize what I like most about the holidays really *is* all the holiday parties. I love to dress up in a beautiful dress, wear my hair down, drink free cocktails, and chat up a million new people I'll never see again. I'm sure partygirl can relate.

I also realize these parties are way more fun for me as a single girl than they were as half of an established couple. Flexing my flirting skills with people who don't know me is good -- and there's always the possibility of meeting a cute boy with whom there's a spark. That's why I've agreed to attend a full slate of 'em on Saturday. Given the friends involved, I expect to not see my kitty until Sunday afternoon. He's going to be pissed.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.