almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2005-07-16 - 03:15 p.m.

on slacking...

It's been 2 weeks since I got back from Italy, and still no writing about it really. Other than the bit about Italy being under constant renovation in my other blog.

The lack of writing has been more than made up for by excessive cooking. I'm broadening my base repertoire, and cooking almost every night now, thanks to having someone at home to eat half of my culinary creations.

Of course, cooking more means I have renewed crankiness about my wretched corner store. It's open Tues=Fri only, andnot until sometime in the afternoon, and only open until early evening. They never carry dairy or bread, and lack avocados and strawberries. In short, they carry every fruit/veggie I never have a craving for, and offer them for sale only when I am not in the neighborhood...

;)

Ahem. It could be worse though -- I could have a Whole Foods in my neighborhood and thus be poor from buying far too many fabulous foodstuffs.

I want to make some panini for lunch, and have fontina and prosciutto on hand, but lack bread. And good bread means going to the other side of the park to Andronico's. So, unless the boy is all fired up to go grocery shopping when he gets home this afternoon, we may be reduced to eating frozen pizza...Not that frozen pizza is BAD, mind you, but it sucks as compared to the homemade pizzas I made earlier this week (pesto/salami/mozarella and olive oil/garlic/mozarella).

I got out the baking urge today by whipping up some blueberry corn muffins. Unfortuantely, I forgot to add some brown sugar or confectioner's sugar to the top, so they lack the sweetness I'm craving. Resisting the urge to toss them out and start over...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.