almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2005-07-24 - 7:22 p.m.

Wine with Dinner is Good

Wine instead of dinner is bad. It makes me sad. We didn't set out to not have dinner, but one thing led to another and then it was 11:00 p.m. -- too late for dinner.

We were nearly as bad today. Tiny little cheddar cheese biscuits and coffee for breakfast (or that coulda been yesterday in which case it was just coffee for breakfast). Then off to Sharon's BBQ.

You'd think a BBQ would equal overindulgence but that's never quite how it goes for me or my boy. We got there early and made ranch dip and white trash dip, and a big bowl of sangria. Then we proceeded outside with our bounty and parked ourselves in the shade. Once the grill eventually got going, we each ate a bit of a cheeseburger (we both had ones that were not nearly done enough for eating), and later moved on to some tasty hot dogs and an Italian ice (like a grown-up Otter Pop).

Since I am a surprisingly shy person, parties are always a little hard, even in a case like this wherein I already knew 80% of the guests. It was nice to chat with folks I hadn't seen for a few months, and to solidify Sharon's group costume theme (She'll be Buffy, her boy will be Angel, and she's suggested my boy and I be Spike and Drusilla.)

In a play to help me get over my party phobia, we are throwing a small beer and board games party that will also double as a housewarming. I haven't thrown any such event since I got married so many moons ago. But back then, not only did I lack living room furniture, I lacked the heart of the right boy. I think this event shall be much more fun. And yes, folks really do have to B.Y.O.B.(G.)

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.