almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-08-03 - 9:21 p.m.

summer mix

Before I share the latest mix I made with you, I have to share the dream I had last night. I was a very successful novelist (of all things), and Andrew Eldridge was trying to meet up with me for dinner. I think that qualifies as my most random dream of all time.

Also, last night I re-watched High Fidelity, which has my all-time favorite JAMC shout out, courtesy of Jack Black's character:

    Barry: How about the Jesus and Mary Chain?

    Barry's Customer: They always seemed...

    Barry: They always seemed what? They always seemed really great is what they always seemed. They picked up where your precious Echo left off, and you're sitting around complaining about no more Echo albums. I can't believe you don't own this fucking record. (tosses the record to the customer and walks away) That's insane. Jesus.

In trying to come up with other JAMC movie references, I recalled the Psychocandy poster in Mary Stuart Masterson's bedroom and inclusion of "The Hardest Walk" in Some Kind of Wonderful, the use of "Snakedriver" in the sleazy bar scene in The Crow, and most recently, the use of "Just Like Honey" in its entirety to close Lost in Translation. Have I missed any?

And now the mix:

  • Attack of the Clone F*cker -- Schaffer the Dark Lord
  • Cheating on You -- Franz Ferdinand
  • Confusion... (Confusion?) -- The Washdown
  • Cyclone Graves -- Ken Stringfellow
  • Debonair -- Robbers on High Street
  • Dusted -- Fojimoto
  • Listen -- Singapore Sling
  • Night At Star Castle -- Robbers on High Street
  • Overdriver -- Singapore Sling
  • Prequel -- Ken Stringfellow
  • Pull.Out.Work.Space -- The Washdown
  • Starting Five -- dios
  • Tap the Satellite -- Fojimoto
  • The Desperate Kingdom Of Love -- PJ Harvey
  • The Rat -- The Walkmen
  • The Slow Drug -- PJ Harvey
  • Thinking of a Dream I Had -- The Walkmen
  • This Fire -- Franz Ferdinand
  • You Got Me All Wrong -- dios
  • Your Band -- Schaffer the Dark Lord

any comments? (3 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.