almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-07-31 - 1:34 a.m.

a case of grouchy writer's block...

Paris Pantheon column When I'm mostly outrageously happy and giddy, I write in my journal frequently, regularly, not wanting to let any of the tiny details slip from my memory. When everything in life feels shitty, I can't bring myself to sit here and complain, so I don't update. Honestly, in the latter case, I really don't write anything at all. Judging from my mood and how this year is going, I'll never finish my writing workshop.

The one nice thing as of late, other than my fabulous new toy, is the new AC adapter Apple sent me did the trick and I am now back in the land of people-who-can-use-their-laptop-to-surf-the-Web-and-write-emails-whilst-propped-up-by-pillows-in-bed. This is especially nice when one has insomnia (brought on by work stress). Yeah!!

Back to the iPod again for a minute. I am finding I want accessories to facilitate my playing with this toy. I carry it around with me all the time. When people see its shiny chromed remote clipped to my bag or my shirt, they know what it is I have hidden on me, and they all want to play with it. It's the tech geek version of taking a fluffy puppy for a walk in the park on a sunny day. Hehe.

My birthday is in one week. My only firm plans for celebrating involve ear splittingly loud british rock music, courtesy of the Libertines, on Sunday night. I've scrapped all travel plans (that iPod wasn't free, alas), and haven't made any birthday party/shindig plans. I am going to fritter away an entire week off while staying in SF. I envision some time to actually write, more time to wander, reading a fluffy fictionalized memoir or two, and, if the weather cooperates, I may even go for a swim. A nice juicy burger with smelly blue cheese and heirloom tomatoes on top from Zuni is also on my agenda for my birthday proper -- who wants to come with me?

The past week's major pleasant surprise is I got to met up with my long lost friend the same day he found me through that Web site most of us have been obsessed with as of late. (You know, the one that will start charging for some sort of perceived level of service as of tomorrow.) It was so amazing to pick right back up with someone I hadn't seen in so long. He was one of my favorite people to hang out with and play with in SD. He can thrift like no one else, and would hold hands and skip around various locales, eat greasy mexican food with me, and always made me feel like the sexiest, most charming girl on the planet. Yeah for him finding me!

The only downside is he works during the hours I am sleeping, and sleeps during the hours I'm awake and not at work. So, I may end up talking to him on the phone way more frequently than actually hanging out with him, but, I can't complain.

Off now to brew some tea. If I can't go back to sleep soon, I should throw on some clothes and go to work to enjoy some quiet time...

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.