almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-11-01 - 11:20 a.m.

another week slipped on by...

apple store welder I've taken to refusing to make any time commitments at all without consulting my Palm Pilot/work calendar. This seems obnoxious, for sure, but it seems as though every evening has plans, many made weeks in advance. It's impossible to remember it all!!!

This week was like that, as was last week. We shifted from those sunny hot Summery days right into arctic cold (OK, 50-something degrees) cold windy weather; yesterday there was even HAIL! No wonder I can't shake this sore throat and annoying cold.

I vaguely recall Sunday brunch and getting my nails done w/Maira-Rose, girl talk with DearAnxiety at the Cheesecake Factory, a special museum event for the overwhelmingly completist Diane Arbus show at SFMOMA, and the sneak preview of In the Cut, plus the best french dip sandwich I've had in this fair city at East Coast West deli. I know there was more (since I can't recall Monday night).

In the Cut is the new Jane Campion (The Piano) movie, starring a surprisingly compelling Meg Ryan. The cinematography is beautiful, and Ryan's performance as a woman cut off from emotionally from her environment and the people in it, other than her sister, was impressive. The "thriller" plotline, however, wasn't as fleshed out as it could be, and didn't really hold its own against the marvelous look and feel of the film.

Oh, yes, and it was awfully smutty. Unfortunately, we had some yahoo sitting behind us who made obnoxious comments throughout. He was most indigant when Ryan was ple*suring herself. His specific comment, yelled at the screen, was "You freak!" I imagine he and his accompanying girlfriend must have the most delightfully short and boring s*x ever. Why do such people even bother coming to see these films? And did I mention that I was at this film with the boy I met at the pub? Oh yes, what a marvelous, expedient way to get to know someone... How is it, exactly, that I forgot this was going to be such a smutty film? It's on a par with going to see Mulholland Drive as my first non-work outing with a female coworker a few years back...

I braved the cold early this morning to procure two bags of treats from the farmers' market, all in support of making a big batch of pasta sauce this afternoon, some of which will go over some baked orichette with goat cheese and fresh ricotta for dinner. Now that the meat market is open, I actually can do almost all of my grocery shopping at the market. This makes me a very very happy girl...

BTW, if you were wondering, the photo on this page is of a welder working on our new Apple store on Stockton Street near Union Square. I wish he would work faster...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.