almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-12-08 - 11:44 a.m.

my last two weeks

Little Brian in my BackyardI was getting through this holiday season without having a big case of the "i miss you blues" right up until I had a friend over for dinner last week and pulled out the old photo albums and scrapbooks from San Diego...I followed that up with reading dearanxiety's entry on people she missed. That did it for me.

I don't miss a lot of people I used to know, mostly because the friends who are no longer part of my life drifted away as our interests changed and our paths diverged. This is, to me, a natural and healthy thing. But there are a few people I *do* miss, including Brian, seen above wrestling with my cat.

I have many great memories of hanging out with this sweet boy...my favorite memory is of seeing Peter Murphy for the first time with him and two of our friends. He gave the friend I came with his ticket (which was a better seat than mine) so he could hang out by my side for the show. He put his arm around me when Peter sang "My Last Two Weeks". In the midst of deciding to break off a 4-year relationship, I listened to this song, with tears rolling down my cheeks and Brian holding me tight.

I should also add that this boy is one of 2 people who make up the rest of my favorite photo booth photo, shared with you, dear reader, after I saw Amelie. Said photo booth was at the Del Mar Fair. We ran around the fairgrounds with our friend Gloria, ate too much carnival food, and he won a huge teddy bear for me that my kitty eventually ripped to shreds (that's what kitties do after all.)

Brian moved to Atlanta with his mom and stepdad sometime in the early 90s and I never saw him again. He sent me some funny postcards from time to time, but then I moved out of my little cottage in San Diego, and have moved several times since then, making me impossible to find. I hope someday to turn around at a show and see Brian McMillan standing behind me, with a smile, and his arms wide open to give me a hug.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.