almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-03-17 - 1:46 p.m.

hydroplane

”Embarcadero My head has been in the clouds all week when it wasn�t immersed in preparations for a bunch of presentations I have to give at a big event for work�thus, no writing for me. The major perk of the week was my little shopping spree at Amoeba. It is also a good indicator of what stuck in my brain after my Noise Pop festivities:

  • The Scene is Out of Sight CD -- Actionslacks
  • Shine So Hard live EP on vinyl -- Echo & the Bunnymen
  • Les Bains Douches gatefold, blue vinyl, live double album -- Joy Division
  • Circle Gets the Square 7� -- Oranger
  • Doorway to Norway CD -- Oranger
  • Bluest Glass Eye Sea blue 7� -- Oranger
  • Dear 23 CD -- The Posies
  • In Case You Didn�t Feel Like Plugging In CD-- The Posies
  • Revolt Against Tired Noises CD -- The Stratford 4

Technically, the Stratford 4 disc wasn�t a �must have� � I think I already have all the songs on other EPs�BUT, since I was in full �support local music and indie record stores� after my inspiring noise pop immersion weekend, I didn�t deny myself that purchase. I especially love �hydroplane� which is on this CD (and is what I imagine I�ll see many SUVs full of St. Patrick�s Day revelers do later tonight since it has been raining off and on all day.) Oranger made up the bulk of my purchases, and was the fave performance amongst most of my friends as well.

You can find much of this lovely music at Insound., or Amazon if a trek to Amoeba isn�t in your future. It�s a good thing I went to Amoeba after a long, tiring day of work. I�m afraid of what would have happened if I�d spent another hour there perusing the 7� boxes�Clearly, I can not be trusted around vinyl.

The rest of this day is slated to be spent working on presentation decks for that before mentioned event�I also have some scanning and photo manipulation to do as personal favors for coworkers. If I finish this all in a timely manner, and feel like getting in some socializing, I may hook up with my chief �girl�s night� partner in crime and take in some St. Patrick�s Day festivities. BUT, let it be noted here, I will *not* drink any green beer, thanks.

Currently listening to Andrew Eldridge sing �We are the Same Suzanne� and wishing I had a trip to Germany and a Sisters of Mercy concert in my future. Instead, I�ll keep giving everyone I know my vacation tips so I may vacation vicariously through them. OK, enough work avoidance! Offline I go for a bit. Cheers.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.