almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-10-08 - 5:53 p.m.

NYC reflections

graffiti flower Flying back from NYC... waiting for "About a Boy" to start (which I never *did* go see in the theater...), and eating the Carr's biscuits for tea and wishing I was flying Virgin to London, where I'd have a nice darjeeling to go with them...

I made sure everyone had my cell phone number before I left for NYC so I wouldn't have to come all the way home to be let go... I was salivating over the idea of a cheap ticket to London from NYC and had almost talked my NYC-based coworker into going with me (although promises made over fantasic fondue and glasses of Napa Valley merlot probably can't be trusted.)

I am in the middle seat for this flight -- but don't pity me. There's no one else in this row. This allowed me to spend the first hour of the flight in full repose, head propped up on pillows against the window, reading frequent "This American Life" contributor Sarah Vowel's incredibly entertaining "The Partly Cloudy Patriot." Alas, I am a quick reader, and have already breezed through all but the last two essays...

I recall reading some crap article when "About a Boy" came out that mentioned they'd removed the Nirvana references and de-alternativeized Ellie, so as not to "date" the film... as though the rap references and the consumer fetish items in Will's flat will survive as timeless. What rot. I'd been enjoying the film quite a bit right up until I saw Markus bobbing his head and rapping as he walked down the hall...oh well.

The biggest surprise from this trip was how much I liked P.S.1, even though I'd not expected to. The building itself is in a marvelous state of decay. I could've spent a whole day there taking photos if there'd been fewer people about...

"Come to Daddy", an Aphex Twin video by Chris Cunningham, was my favorite piece on exhibit. It was very dark, with a little old lady whose dog triggers all sorts of nastiness by taking a leak on a piece of electronics... the little people with the face masks of the same guy (Richard James of Aphex Twin) were especially disturbing. Now *that's* good video art. On a side note, RESfest is hosting a Cunningham retrospective. Their next stop is NYC -- check it out.

I had a big "to do/see" list for my long weekend in NYC, and was able to check many items off, in large fact due to the rush of adrenaline I always get while travelling. Only when travelling can I go without sleep for 48 hours and walk several miles in a day 'cuz it's more fun than taking some form of transportation...

The other supporting factor was my using travel as a means to distance myself from people/places/things of a troubling nature. Focusing all my energies on travel immersion provides ample time for reflection and a respite from worrying about "might be", "what if", and "if only." Focusing on the pleasures of the here and now and the enjoyment of living in this time and place, with all the amazing beauty, art, food, love, and warm days spent walking down unfamiliar streets with camera in hand... I hope to cultivate the ability to come away with this renewed sense of enjoyment of life by walking a few steps from my apartment. Much more practical on a regular basis than hopping on a plane and jetting off to parts unknown.

I spent most of my trip alone by choice. The only folks with whom I hung out were the ladies I'd made dinner plans with on Sunday night, one of whom I also enjoyed a convivial dinner last night. I needed some time to myself, out of my usual routine, to recharge and remotivate. I'm not sure I would've made the best playmate for anyone whose head wasn't in the same space...

It gave me much happiness to talk with the friend and coworker who is likewise dealing with our every day work ambiguity, and the other issues goiing on in her life that I can relate to. We were able to enjoy convivial dinners and reinforce the joy there is to be had in life for each other. She rocks, and I miss having frank conversations with her in the hallway...I hope she comes back to SF soon. And I hope I come back to NYC soon, though not too soon.

I've got some things I need to take care of in *my* City.

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.