almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-04-15 - 10:21 p.m.

these days

art deco facade on lexington This was one of those beautiful, magical weekends that makes me wonder what was wrong with me when I last wrote my ode to leaving this fair city. I stuck my toes in the sand, sat and listened to the waves crashing on the beach, and daydreamed my day away�

This evening finds me sipping a glass of Franciscan merlot, and enjoying the most deeply rich and satisfying chocolate chip cookies I�ve ever baked. I don�t know if I can credit the super fantastic European style butter, or listening to Ian Curtis sing while I baked, but I am certainly very, very pleased with the results.

I wandered home from the ocean, with sun-addled thoughts that were further influenced by tripping over a box of tapes that fell off a shelf in my closet�upon closer inspection, this box of tapes had many, many mix tapes, and, even more intriguingly, some unmarked tapes. Could these be the long-lost tapes of my college radio shows? I popped one such tape in the tape deck, crossed my fingers and waited�then heard the opening strains of �I will Follow� by U2, followed by a voice I just barely recognize as my own, then got sucked in to 4 hours of tape replay, reliving my youth. Stay tuned to mix-tapes for some of the best mixes culled from the box.

Listening to the music made me nostalgic for people and places I associate with the tunes (or who had called up and made the requests). It also made me realize that many of the shows were programmed around who I knew that was listening at the time�most specifically, the first half hour or so of each show was centered on music that spoke to the boy I was seeing at the time. This typically meant at least one Boy-era U2 song. I hope that boy appreciated it!

;-)

I�d love to stick around and share more revelations and discoveries, but my cookies have cooled, and my eyelids are drooping�I leave you with some of Ian�s words�

These Days --Joy Division

�Can you stay -- for these days?
These days -- these days
Use hard-worn deception to get away
Broken heart romance
to make it pay
These days -- these days

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.